

BOARD OF GOVERNORS – ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, September 27, 2018, 10 am

Emily Carr University, Boardroom (D2315)

ATTENDANCE:

Voting Members: Randy Lee Cutler

Kim Peacock Alex Phillips
Geoff Plant Gaye Fowler
Gillian Siddall Susan Wilson
Shauna Bryan Selina Huang

Bill Tam Regrets: Esther Rausenberg

Sonny Assu Non-voting members: Michael Clifford, Kevin Bird, Bonne Zabolotney

Scott Hawthorn Guests: Philippa Mennell, Lori MacDonald, Rita Wong

Keith Reynolds Support: Carina Clark, EA to the President + Board Secretary

I. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

- 1. Call to Order Kim Peacock, called the meeting to order at 10:08 am.
- 2. Motion: Adoption of Agenda. The agenda was approved.

Moved / Seconded to approve the Agenda.

Carried

- Oath of Office: new Board Members Keith Reynolds, Selina Huang and Susan Wilson took the oath of office.
- 4. Conflict of Interest Annual Declaration Kim Peacock asked all Board members to complete the conflict of interest annual declaration, and return completed forms to Carina Clark.
- 5. Information: Thank you to board members with recently expired terms and announcement of reappointed members. Kim Peacock reported that the terms for Lucille Pacey and Bill Cunningham were not renewed. Nicholette Prince has resigned from the Board, due to scheduling constraints. The Ministry will appoint a replacement for Nicholette. Shauna Bryan and Kim Peacock were reappointed to the Board until 2021. Alex Phillip's term is ending September 30. A Faculty election is underway, and closes October 1.

II. BUSINESS

- 1. Election of Board Executive Members:
 - a) Nominations report Kevin Bird, Executive Director, Student Services / Registrar, reported on nominations received for the Executive positions.

b) Nominations + Election of Chair – Kevin Bird reported that Kim Peacock was nominated for the position of Chair. Kim agreed to stand for the position of Chair. A call for nominations was issued from the floor three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

It was declared that Kim Peacock was elected by acclamation as Chair of the Board of Governors.

c) Nominations + Election of Vice Chair – Kevin Bird reported that Shauna Bryan was nominated for the position of Vice Chair. Shauna agreed to stand for the position of Vice Chair. A call for nominations was issued from the floor three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

It was declared that Shauna Bryan was elected by acclamation as Vice Chair of the Board of Governors.

- d) Nominations + Election of three (3) Directors-at-large. Kevin Bird reported that there were five nominations for Directors-at-large; Bill Tam, Scott Hawthorn, Geoff Plant, Sonny Assu, and Esther Rausenberg. All present at the meeting agreed to stand for the nomination. Esther Rausenberg was not present at the meeting. Sonny Assu decided to withdraw his interest to stand for nomination of Director-at-large. A call for nominations was from the floor three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.
 - It was declared that Scott Hawthorn, Bill Tam and Geoff Plant were elected as Directorsat-large of the Board of Governors.
- Motion: Banking Resolution Michael Clifford presented the annual banking resolution, which
 details the list of signing authorities. Michael reported on a few updates to the signing authorities.
 The Board unanimously approved the banking resolution as presented.

Moved / Seconded to approve the 2018/19 banking resolution as presented. Carried

- **III. OTHER BUSINESS** there was no further business.
- **VI. ADJOURNMENT** the meeting adjourned at 10:35 am.