

## **BOARD OF GOVERNORS – ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES**

Thursday, September 21, 2017, 9:00 am

Emily Carr University, Boardroom (D2315)

ATTENDANCE:	
Voting Members:	Randy Lee Cutler
Kim Peacock	Lucille Pacey
Ron Burnett	Alex Phillips
Geoff Plant	Joakim Zatko
Zdenka Buric	Non-voting members: Michael Clifford, Kevin Bird
Bill Cunningham	Regrets: Lynda Brown-Ganzert, Shauna Bryan, Joey Cheung
Gaye Fowler	Guests: Adrian Tees, Philippa Mennell
Scott Hawthorn	Support: Carina Clark, EA to the President + Board Secretary

## I. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

- 1. Call to Order Kim Peacock, called the meeting to order at 9:07 am.
- 2.
   Adoption of Agenda. The agenda was approved.

   Moved / Seconded to approve the Agenda.
   Carried
- 3. Conflict of Interest Annual Declaration Kim Peacock asked Board members to complete the conflict of interest annual declaration, and return completed forms to Carina Clark.

## II. BUSINESS

- 1. Election of Board Executive Members:
  - a) Nominations report Kevin Bird, Executive Director, Student Services / Registrar, reported on nominations received for the Executive positions.
  - b) Nominations + Election of Chair Kevin Bird reported that Kim Peacock was nominated for the position of Chair. Kim agreed to stand for the position of Chair. A call for nominations was issued from the floor three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

## It was declared that Kim Peacock was elected by acclamation as Chair of the Board of Governors.

Nominations + Election of Vice Chair – Kevin Bird reported that Shauna Bryan was nominated and agreed to stand for the position of Vice Chair. A call for nominations was issued from the floor three times and there being no further nominations, nominations were closed.
 It was declared that Shauna Bryan was elected by acclamation as Vice Chair of the Board of Governors.

d) Nominations + Election of three (3) Directors-at-large. Kevin Bird reported that there were five nominations for Directors-at-large; Zdenka Buric, Bill Cunningham, Scott Hawthorn, Lucille Pacey, and Geoff Plant. All agreed to stand for the position for Director-at-large. Kevin Bird ran a ballot vote.

It was declared that Scott Hawthorn, Lucille Pacey and Geoff Plant were elected as Directors-at-large of the Board of Governors.

- Motion: Banking Resolution Michael Clifford presented the banking resolution, the signing authorities and reviewed the updates. A small edit was noted; "statue" should be statute.
   Moved / Seconded to approve the 2017/18 banking resolution as presented with the minor edit as noted.
- **III. OTHER BUSINESS** there was no further business.
- VI. ADJOURNMENT the meeting adjourned at 9:30 am