

MINUTES

BOARD OF GOVERNORS - ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday, September 17, 2020, 12:30-1:30 p.m. Via Zoom online meeting platform.

ATTENDANCE:

Voting Members:

Kim PeacockRandy Lee CutlerEsther RausenbergGeoff PlantScott HawthornKeith ReynoldsGillian SiddallSelina HuangEmma Somers

Sonny Assu Keith Kerrigan Bill Tam

Jacob Brennan Alex Phillips

Guests: Trish Kelly, Michael Clifford, Kevin Bird, Philippa Mennell, Christen Downie, Carina Clark

Land Acknowledgement.

I. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

- 1. Call to Order Kim Peacock called the meeting to order at 12:34 pm.
- 2. Adoption of Agenda.

Moved / Seconded. Carried.

- 3. Oath of Office New Board member Jacob Brennan took the Oath of Office.
- 4. Board Bylaws and Conflict of Interest Annual Declaration Kim Peacock referred to the circulated Board Bylaws and asked all Board members to review the Code of Conduct, complete the Conflict of Interest Annual Declaration and return completed forms by email to Philippa Mennell, University Secretary. Board members were also asked to complete the Board Members Skills Self-assessment for the Competency Matrix to be submitted to B.C.'s Crown Agencies and Board Resourcing Office (CABRO). And, they were asked to submit Board candidate recommendations, which will be forwarded to the Governance Committee for review.
- 5. Board member profiles update The University Secretary provided an update on ECU Board member terms and upcoming vacancies.
 - a. Appointed member, Shauna Bryan (since July 2015) is no longer serving on the board; there is a current vacancy.

- b. Appointed member, Bill Tam (since December 2017) will step down from the board in fall 2020. He has been appointed to the CBC Board of Directors.
- c. Elected member, Randy Lee Cutler will complete a second term and six years on the board in November 2020. An election for a faculty board member will be held in October 2020.
- d. Chancellor Geoff Plant will conclude a second term and six years as Chancellor in spring 2021, which will also mark the end of his term on the board.
- e. Appointed member and alumni nominee, Kim Peacock (member since July 2015) will conclude a second term and six years on the board at the end of July 2021.
- f. Terms for appointed members, Esther Rausenberg and Keith Reynolds, will end in July 2021; they are both eligible for reappointment.
- g. Terms for both Selina Huang and Jacob Brennan will end in July 2021; they are both eligible for re-election. Elections for student board members will be held in spring 2021.

II. BUSINESS

- 1. ELECTION: Board Executive
 - a. Call for nominations Kevin Bird, Registrar, issued the call for nominations for Board Executive positions.
 - Nominations + Election of Chair Kim Peacock and Esther Rausenberg were nominated for the position of Chair. Kim agreed to stand as candidate. Esther declined the nomination.
 - It was declared that Kim Peacock was elected by acclamation as Chair of the Board of Governors.
 - c. Nominations + Election of Vice Chair Keith Kerrigan and Keith Reynolds were nominated for the position of Vice Chair. Keith Kerrigan agreed to stand as candidate. Keith Reynolds declined the nomination.
 - It was declared that Keith Kerrigan was elected by acclamation as Vice Chair of the Board of Governors.
 - d. Nominations + Election of three (3) Directors-at-large. There were five nominations for Directors-at-large: Geoff Plant, Scott Hawthorn, Esther Rausenberg, Jacob Brennan and Sonny Assu. Geoff, Scott and Jacob agreed to stand as candidates. Esther and Sonny declined their respective nominations.
 - It was declared that Geoff Plant, Scott Hawthorn and Jacob Brennan were elected as Directors-at-large of the Board of Governors.

Each candidate made a brief statement about their commitment and what they would like to bring to the role. Several board members congratulated Jacob Brennan on being the first student board member to be elected to the Board's Executive Committee.

2. Board Committee membership – Kim Peacock called on board members to consider volunteering on other committees and in other roles for the board. The following members volunteered for roles as follows:

- a. Chair of Finance + Audit Committee: Geoff Plant.
- b. Finance + Audit Committee members: Esther Rausenberg and Keith Kerrigan.
- c. Governance Committee members: Selina Huang, Alex Phillips, Keith Reynolds and Emma Somers.
- d. Senate non-voting member: Keith Kerrigan (Confirmed in the Regular Session.)
- e. Sabbatical Committee: Sonny Assu. Jacob Brennan also volunteered, but retracted.
- **III. ADJOURNMENT** The meeting adjourned at 1:23 p.m.